We offer you the latest gist and information about all schools. Sit back and relax as you check through this site always to get the latest news update about your school. As a student, if you refuse to be updated in this 21st century. It is forsooth and veraciously clear that you will be out dated.

UNIOSUN Approved Pro Labode Popoola As New Vice Chancellor

The Governor of the State of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Adesoji Aregbesola, has approved the appointment of Professor Labode Popoola , Vice-
Chancellor of Osun State University.
Popoola, a Professor of Forest Economis, was born on 28
September, 1960.
Popoola graduated with Bachelor of Science (Honours) in 1984 from the University of Ibadan.
He had his Master of Science in Forest Economics and Management in 1987 and Doctor of Philosophy in Forest Economics in 1990, both
at the prestigious University of Ibadan, Nigeria.
He was appointed Graduate Assistant at the University of Ibadan in 1988, rose to the rank of
Senior Lecturer in 1997 and Professor of Forest Economics in 2002.
Popoola was Head of Department, Forest Resources Management in
2005-2006 and Dean, Postgraduate School,University of Ibadan from 2006-2010.
He was appointed Director, Centre for Sustainable Development of the University of Ibadan from
2010 to 2016.
He is a member of many learned and
professional associations including Association of Research Managers, UK; African Sustainable Development Network (ASUDNET); United Nation Sustainable Development Solutions Network
(SDSN); International Society of Tropical Foresters; Commonwealth Forestry Association;African Network for Agroforestry Education
(ANAFE); Agroforestry Research Network for Africa (AFRENA); Rural Development Forestry Network; African Forest Research Network
(AFORNET); African Forest Forum (AFF); West African Research and Innovation Management
Association (WARIMA), and Life Member and Fellow, Forestry Association of Nigeria.
In the last seventeen years, he has been external examiners to many institutions including Federal
College of Forestry, Ibadan-1998 to 2003;Federal College of Forest Mechanization,Kaduna-2004 to 2006; Enugu State University-2002; University of Uyo, Uyo-2003 to
2005; University of Agriculture, Makurdi- 2004 to 2006; University of Ado-Ekiti- 2005 to 2010;
Federal University of Technology, Akure- 2006 to date; University of Agriculture, Abeokuta- 2006 to
date; Federal University of Technology,Yola-2008; Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-
Iwoye- 2008 to 2010; University of Benin, Benin City- 2008 to date; Bowen University, Iwo-2008 to
date; Universite Abomey Calavi, Abomey Calavi,Benin Republique 2010; Modibo Adama University
of Technology, Yola-2013, 2014; Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi- 2006 to 2008, 2014 and University College, Dublin, Ireland, UK,2014.
Popoola has many scholastic publications in local and international Journals with over one hundred and fifty (150) publications. He has supervised several Theses/Dissertations. He has also been
given professional appointments in various organizations and attended various local and international Fellowships, International Scientific
Courses, Conferences and Workshops.
His Award/Honour and Distinction include: Best all round student in academic, sports and character, Saint Patrick’s College, Ibadan (1978);Character and Service Award by the Catholic Bishop, Ibadan Diocese (1978); Postgraduate
Scholar, University of Ibadan (1988 -1990); Executive Member, African Network for Agroforestry Education (1999-2001); Award for
Invaluable Service in Agroforestry from the International Centre for Research in Agroforestry
(2001); National Contact Person, African Forest Research Network (2001-2010); National Secretary, Forestry Association of Nigeria (2001 to date); Award for Invaluable Service to the Forestry Profession from the Council of the Association of Nigeria (2002); National Chairman,
Inisa Descendants’ Union, the umbrella union for indigenes of Inisa Worldwide (2004-2010).
He was a member of Joint Council/ Senate Selection Committee on the Selection of the University of Ibadan Vice-Chancellor (2005);Chairman, University of Ibadan Council Campus
Trees Management Committee (2005-2006);Fellow, Forestry Association of Nigeria (2005);
Steering Committee Member of WARIMA (2007 to 2010); Chairman, Committee of Deans of
Postgraduate Schools in Nigerian Universities (2008 to 2010); Hitachi Software Engineering (UK) Ltd- Distinguished Leadership Award for the pioneer contribution to deployment of the Hitachi
Teaching and Learning Platform in Nigeria (2010); Osun State Merit Award for Excellence in Science, Research and Community Development (2010); General Secretary, West African Research and Innovation Management
Association (2010 to Date); Member, Governing Council of the University of Ibadan (2011 to 2016); Member, Academic Steering Committee,
International Advisory Board of the Global Master’s in Development Practice Programme (2012 to Date); African Women in Agriculture and
Rural Development (AWARD)-Gender and Diversity Programme of the CGIAR in recognition of dedication and Commitment to Mentoring
(2012); Co-Director, Nigeria Sustainable Development Solutions Network, and affiliate of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions
Network (2013) among others.
His interest and hobbies include farming,gardening, travelling, Professional Associations,
photography, debate on current thinking in a variety of fields, music, nature walks, meditation,counselling, teamwork and mentoring. He is
happily married and blessed with children.

Share this article :

Post a Comment


Contact Form


Email *

Message *


Image result for whatsapp images+2347036380306Image result for call images+2348130096868
Support : Copyright © 2011. Allroundnewz - All Rights Reserved Proudly powered by Blogger